• Twitter icon
  • Facebook icon
  • Youtube icon
  • Instagram icon
  • Snapchat icon

Largest-Ever U.S. Auto Recall, What You Need to Know

If you drive a Honda, Fiat, Chrysler, Ferrari, Mazda, Mitsubishi, Toyota, Nissan or a Subaru, your car may be one of the millions affected by the Takata airbag recall. These eight automakers announced on May 27 that they have added more than 12 million vehicles to the Takata recall, making it the largest recall ever in the U.S. Documents posted by the U.S. government regulators showed that Honda is recalling 4.5 million vehicles, while Fiat Chrysler is recalling 4.3 million, and more automakers are expected to issue recall notices.

Earlier, the Japanese inflator company recalled 28.8 million inflators affecting more than 20 million U.S. vehicles. It was found that the chemical ammonium nitrate that is used to create the small explosion inside the airbag to inflate it during a crash can deteriorate over time when it is exposed to higher temperatures. If that happens, it will burn faster than it is supposed to. It can destroy a metal canister which was designed to contain the explosion, scattering hot shrapnel into the vehicle. The inflators have been linked to at least 13 deaths and more than 100 injuries worldwide, with two additional deaths currently under investigation.

The government is phasing in the recalls due to lack of available parts for replacement. Vehicles that are from 2011 and earlier in high heat and humidity will have first priority. Vehicles that are from 2008 and older in Southern states will follow, then 2004 and older vehicles in the other parts of the country will be serviced. Older cars have priority because research shows that it takes at least six years for the ammonium nitrate to deteriorate.

Officials say that the best way to see if your car is affected by the recall is to go to vinrcl.safercar.gov/vin or the manufacturer websites and type in your vehicle identification number which can be found on your vehicle’s registration or on the driver’s side of the dashboard. If it doesn’t show up, check back often as it may take a few weeks for all of the vehicles to show up in the database.

You can also see if your vehicle is listed here as a model included in the recalls announced on May 27:


  • Certain 2003-06 Acura MDX
  • 2005-11 Acura RL
  • 2009-11 Acura TSX
  • 2010-11 Acura ZDX
  • 2008-11 Honda Accord
  • 2010-11 Honda Accord Crosstour
  • 2006-11 Honda Civic
  • 2005-11 Honda CR-V
  • 2003-11 Honda Element
  • 2010-11 Honda FCX Clarity
  • 2007-11 Honda Fit
  • 2010-11 Honda Insight
  • 2002-04 Honda Odyssey
  • 2003-11 Honda Pilot
  • 2006-11 Honda Ridgeline
  • certain 2006-10 Honda Gold Wing motorcycles

Fiat Chrysler:

  • Certain 2007-09 Chrysler Aspen SUVs
  • 2005-12 Chrysler 300
  • 2008-12 Dodge Challenger
  • 2006-12 Dodge Charger
  • 2005-11 Dodge Dakota pickups
  • 2004-09 Dodge Durango SUVs
  • 2005-08 Dodge Magnum wagons
  • 2004-08 Ram 1500 pickups
  • 2005-09 Ram 2500 pickups
  • 2006-09 Ram 3500 pickups
  • 2007-10 Ram/Ram 3500 cab chassis
  • 2008-10 Ram/Ram 4500/5500 cab chassis
  • 2007-12 Jeep Wrangler SUVs
  • 2006-09 Mitsubishi Raider pickups
  • 2008-09 Sterling/Bullet 4500/5500 cab chassis.


  • Certain 2008-11 Scion xB and Lexus IS F
  • 2009-11 Toyota Corolla and Matrix
  • 2006-11 Toyota Yaris Lexus IS250 and Lexus IS350
  • 2010-11 Toyota 4Runner
  • Lexus IS250C, Lexus IS350C, and Lexus GX460
  • 2011 Sienna
  • 2007-11 Lexus ES350
  • 2009-10 Pontiac Vibes designed for General Motors by Toyota.


  • Certain 2009-11 Mazda6
  • 2007-11 CX-7 and CX-9
  • 2004-11 RX-8, 2004-06 MPV
  • 2003-08 Mazda6
  • 2006-07 Mazdaspeed6


  • Certain 2003-04 Legacy and Outback
  • 2006 Saab 9-2x made by Subaru
  • 2003-06 Baja pickups
  • certain 2009-11 Legacy, Outback and Forester
  • 2006-11 Impreza and Tribeca.


  • Certain 2005-08 Infiniti FX35 and FX45
  • 2003-04 Infiniti I30 and I35
  • 2006-10 Infiniti M35 and M45
  • 2007-11 Nissan Versa.


  • Certain 2009-11 Ferrari California
  • 2010-11 458 Italia.


  • Certain 2006-07 Lancer and Lancer Evolution cars.