Anyone who has been in the Corpus Christi Bay quickly notices the high number of boats and jet skis shredding up the waves. Another thing you notice out in the bay is that the standard rules of the road do not necessarily apply while operating a water vessel. Therefore, driving a boat or jet ski can be very dangerous for anyone with little or no experience.
During the summer, when most people are on vacation, there are much more water vessels in the bay. This increased traffic is why it is so important for owners and operators of water vessels to understand and obey the laws of the waterway. If you are new to boating or recently purchased a boat, there are several classes you take to help you navigate the Corpus Christi Bay safely and legally.
Whether you are planning to purchase your own boat or only rent a couple of jet skis for the weekend, it is important to plan and prioritize everyone’s safety. The shoreline can be hazardous if you do not take the proper precautions before leaving the dock. While open containers of alcohol on a boat are legal, drinking and boating is illegal. More importantly, the blood alcohol concentration limit for boating and drinking is identical to limits for drinking and driving. Finally, confirm you have the correct number of life jackets on board. The Corpus Christi Bay can be a great time and a fun adventure for the summer.
WHAT TO DO IF YOU ARE IN A BOATING ACCIDENT
If you’ve been in a boating accident or you want to know what you should do if you are in one in the future. Here’s what you need to know.
SEEK MEDICAL ATTENTION
The first thing after an accident is to get any necessary medical attention for any injuries to yourself or others in your party. Stop your boat, check on everyone, and assess the situation. Always cooperate with all first responders and emergency medical personnel to keep everyone safe.
REPORT THE BOATING ACCIDENT
According to federal law, you must alert the Coast Guard if you have been involved in a boating accident. This report is critical if the accident resulted in a fatality, missing persons, an injury that requires more than first aid treatment, property damage of more than $2,000, or a lost boat or water vessel. You should also report the accident to local authorities to have an official accident report on file.
RECORD ALL EVIDENCE
Following the accident, you must record all the evidence you can. This record includes taking photos or videos of the damage resulting from the accident, taking eyewitness accounts, collecting witness contact information, and writing down your understanding of the events. It would be best if you also held on to any receipts for expenses you paid due to the accident, including repairs and medical bills.
GET LEGAL COUNSEL
If you think the accident resulted from the negligence of another party, you should retain legal counsel. An experienced personal injury attorney can help you win the compensation you deserve.
ABOUT HERRMAN AND HERRMAN PLLC
With over 100 years of combined experience among the legal team of Herrman & Herrman, P.L.L.C., our Texas personal attorneys have successfully resolved over 20,000 cases. When representing injured Texas residents, we fight for justice against wrongdoing and aggressively pursue the best resolution to complex personal injury claims.
We remain by our clients’ side, handling all aspects of their claims and attending to all legal, medical, and financial needs. That dedication is combined with experience, legal knowledge, and insight from a former insurance adjuster and several former insurance defense attorneys. Whether our clients are suffering from physical pain from an accident or the emotional grief of death, we treat clients with compassion. We put their mind at ease during difficult times by answering their questions concerning the length of their claim, medical bills, financial compensation, and their overall need for a lawyer.
Start the road to recovery by contacting us for a free consultation and case evaluation.
Our law firm has locations across Texas! Connect with any of our law firms here.